Art

Posted on May 21, 2017

0


I love art. The beauty of art is that it can take any shape possible inasmuch as it creates in the one who experiences it a response of “THIS. IS. ART.” Isn’t that amazing? Art isn’t just… there. We MAKE art. We literally create it by response. Because of that, any and everything has the potential to be art. It’s like the word “weed,” which actually means “anything you don’t want planted in that place.” A rose, therefore, could be a weed, depending on the eye of the beholder, and a weed could be “unweeded” so long as someone wants it planted. There’s a whole other aspect to this in which I apply shit I learned in college (somehow Saussure and Derrida are STILL relevant to me, thanks UTA.) Anyways. I think art is beautiful, so I thought I’d share some of my favorite pieces of art. Please comment with yours. I’d love to experience some awesome art.
1. Because I’ve been listening to KDot I’ll start there: Kendrick Lamar’s 2016 Grammy performance was off-the-charts amazing. It took his jazz-infused hip-hop and applied it to what would be a simple musical act except it morphed (much like a butterfly, you could say) into a thoughtful, layered, performance art/theater/spoken word poetry slam mind-bomb of lyricism, light and dance. It’s so effing artful I tear up whenever I watch it. I listen to his stuff every time I want to get into the groove of writing poetry because he absolutely NAILS lyric as a form of emotion. Ugh. I love his work.
2. The Beginner’s Guide. It’s a video game by Davey Wreden (The Stanley Parable,) which, if you’re into games, would clue you into the fact that it probably breaks the fourth wall. I argue it stares it in the face, invites it for tea then makes it questions its existence. Talk about challenging the idea of a narrator, unreliable narrator and the part of the reader creating meaning. Like. WHOA. Watch any play through of this game and be blown away. Many could argue it’s a “playable screensaver.” I call it modern storytelling on par with “Patchwork Girl” and “Skin” by Shelley Jackson.
3. Breakfast of Champions. Kurt Vonnegut wrote this after Slaughterhouse Five because Slaughterhouse Five made him depressed. Breakfast of Champions was his means of working his way out of that. It’s a challenging read for anyone who isn’t familiar with an author who inserts themselves into their work. I also love Still Life with Woodpecker for its candid approach to life, love, meaning and the man in the moon.
4. We Didn’t by Stuart Dybek because it introduced me to the idea of a story told in the ways that it wasn’t.
5. Cowboy Bebop and FLCL for their infusion of soundtrack, art and plotline. Dusk Maiden of Amnesia for episodes 9-12 and the incorporation of disassociation as a plot point. Psycho Pass and its more-relevant-than-ever inspection of our trust in a social authority.
6. Mashed potatoes. Because, legit, have you ever been more happy?

Posted in: Musings